Guide to Fare Scales

Single fares in a zonal system ought to be straightforward. In London they aren’t. It’s not just the zones you travel through that matter, but also which lines you use. Yes, there really are eight different scales for journeys within zones 1-9. Let’s start with a definition of when each scale applies. The coloured lines in the table correspond to the routes on the map below (click for a full size version). The first set of lines indicate sections which must be used for the fare scale to apply (where orange, blue and green can be in any combination). The second set of lines indicate sections which may be used while still allowing the fare scale to apply.

TfL-Eus   Journeys solely on the Euston to Watford Junction line with Euston at one end.
TfL-LU       All Underground and DLR journeys plus National Rail services operated by:
LO (except services from Liverpool Street and Romford-Upminster),
GN (Kings Cross/Moorgate – Finsbury Park only),
TL (Finsbury Park/West Hampstead-London Bridge/Elephant & Castle only),
SN (Clapham Junction-Watford Junction, Queens Road Peckham-Peckham Rye, New Cross Gate-Crystal Palace/West Croydon only),
SE (Peckham Rye-Denmark Hill only),
TR (Paddington-Heathrow only).
TfL-LSt     AGA, LO and TR services only with Liverpool Street at one end.
TfL-Ang         All other journeys involving AGA, LO and TR on the lines from Liverpool Street (and Romford-Upminster) potentially combined with anything covered by TfL-LU.
NR1        Journeys solely on National Rail (including AGA, C2C, CH, GWR, LNW, LO and TR) where part of the journey is on GN, SE*, SN, SWR, TL. *Except at Dartford or Swanley.
NR1-T          Journeys covered by NR1 combined with Underground and/or DLR.
NR2       Journeys covered by NR1 where either Dartford or Swanley is at one end.
NR2-T           Journeys covered by NR2 combined with Underground and/or DLR.

Train Operating Companies: AGA – Abellio Greater Anglia, C2C – C2C Rail, CH – Chiltern, GN – Great Northern, GWR – Great Western Railway, LNW – London Northwestern, LO – London Overground, SE – Southeastern, SN – Southern, TL – Thameslink, TR – TfL Rail, SWR – South Western Railway.